And Now for Something Completely Different?

So… today I looked into going back to school. Yeah, I know, it surprises me too. I mean, that’s not exaclty “embracing the lazy side,” is it?

I graduated from UAB over four years ago with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management. When I shot out the doors there for the last time, I was psyched and ready to go. I mean, I finally had that elusive, illustrious piece of paper that was supposed to unlock the doors to every dream I’d ever had, right? Not only that, but I already had several years of good work experience – management experience, no less!

As luck would have it, things hadn’t been going well with the company I was with at the time, so I bid them adieu and waited for the deluge of offer letters I was about to receive from prospective employers. And I waited. And I waited. Until I finally realized that those offers weren’t going to come as easily as I had thought.

But hey, that was cool. I was young, smart, and relatively good-looking, and I knew that having that magical degree was sure to land me a great job in no time.

Two months after graduation, I was still looking for a job when my wife found out she was pregnant. I couldn’t have been more excited. Lauren, however, being a little more down to earth than I, felt rather worried that I still hadn’t procured employment. By the time another month or two had gone by, I was pretty worried myself; I couldn’t find a job doing anything.

Finally (I won’t bore you with all the odd-jobs and interviews I endured), after over six months of looking, I finally found a good job. The salary was good, the benefits were good, and it was work that I was already familiar with.

I’ve been working in that same job for almost 4 years now, and while it’s been great, and the company’s been great, I’ve started to feel that itch. I’ve peered up the ladder and realized that I’m not too crazy about any of the positions up there. And even if I were, it would require relocation, which is something I’d rather avoid.

So, for quite awhile now, I’ve been thinking about what to do next. Not that I really plan on leaving this job any time soon, but I think it’s time for me to at least have some game plans going, in case I decide to stretch my legs and try something else.

School seemed like a possible answer. Maybe I could go back for a degree in MIS, or web design, or something. For a long time, I’ve been fascinated by programming. I especially like the graphic design stuff, but then again, doesn’t everybody? I think most programmers want to design the next highly addictive video game, so having that ambition isn’t all that original. It’s like saying you want to be an astronaut when you grow up. So maybe something more modest, like MIS, would be more realistic.

My friend Wes seems to think that I should pursue something in project management, perhaps for a tech company. That would give me the change of scenery that I’m longing for, but without having to necessarily go back to school. Definitely something to consider.

Anyway, it’s a lot to think about. I would like to learn how to do some programming, but tuition isn’t cheap, and it’s pretty time-consuming.

Hmm… I’ve really got some thinking to do. I’ll let you know what I come up with, and if anyone has any ideas, shoot.

2 thoughts on “And Now for Something Completely Different?

  1. Pingback: the lazy side

  2. Pingback: Hello Again « the lazy side

Leave a Reply

