Why Yes, I am Rather Stupid…

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been having xbox woes. A while back, messages like “The Disk You’re Using May Be Dirty/Damaged” would flash across the screen in large green letters over a black background. Very intimidating, and very frustrating, since the game would also freeze up at that point (often with an annoying sound, like a bad guy saying “Ugh!,” stuck in the loop, playing over and over), and I’d have to reset it. Sometimes, the game wouldn’t come on at all, and I would get that message right at the beginning.

As time has gone by, this situation has become worse and worse, so I finally decided to take it to a local repair shop, Top Games. At first, they decided to clean it out and put some heavier gauge wire in it, which would have run me $30-40. Unfortunately though, that wasn’t enough to fix the problem.

Saturday, they called me and said that it was going to need a new DVD drive, which was going to run about $70. That’s not that bad to get a good video game console running again, but still, I’ve been thinking a little about upgrading to an xbox 360. So I asked the guy if I could get anything for my current xbox, even though it’s not working. Since they’d have to use it for parts, and the power supply is about the only thing worthwhile in it, he said I might get about $15. Not much money, but it beats paying $70 for something I’ll soon replace, so I told him I’d think about it and get back to him.

Now here’s where the story gets really stupid.

A 360 runs about $400, if you want to get the premium system (I’m not real interested in the new 360 elite), but I was a little curious about what a 360 might be going for on ebay. Now, ebay is definitely a seller’s market these days, especially for hot items like a 360, but sometimes you can still get lucky and find a good deal.

When I pulled up my search on ebay, I saw a 360 premium with a current bid of about $120 with only a minute and a half left to go. I hurriedly logged in to ebay and posted a maximum bid of $225; with the shipping price at $25, that was still a fantastic deal.

Just a moment later, the auction closed, and I became the proud new owner of an xbox 360 premium with a winning bid of $133. After tax and shipping, I owed about $170… I mean, that’s an unheard of price for a 360!

As I read through the information about this great new console I had bought, my elation quickly turned to horror. As it turns out, the seller of this particular item sells a lot of “as-is” merchandise — items that may or may not work. So far, it looks like mine is one of the ones that doesn’t… Feel free to check it out. I keep wanting to see ambiguity in the description — maybe it works, maybe it doesn’t — but I don’t think I’m being very realistic in that hope. Maybe someone with a little less bias will see it more clearly.

Anyway, not all hope is lost. If it doesn’t work, I plan to take it to Top Games (*sigh*) and see what they can do with it. Maybe I’ll still be able to salvage a working 360 for less than I could have bought a new one for. If not, then I’m going to contact some of the other bidders and see if any of them are interested in buying it.

Wish me luck! And if you’ve got any advice for this imbecile, please don’t hesitate to give it.

7 thoughts on “Why Yes, I am Rather Stupid…

  1. Laziness is clearly not the issue here. If you’d been more lazy, you wouldn’t have been so quick to buy a broken system.

    Here’s the real question: So, you’ve recently purchased a new computer that will likely play any game you’d like…why are you sinking hundreds into consoles that are going to be outdated next year? Your PC should last you at least 5 – 8 years, and will play most any of the games the xbox has…AND you’ll have keyboard shortcuts instead of complicated joystick patterns (the truly lazy way to play).

    The true power of the lazy side lies in its efficiency. Dwell on this while you nap.

  2. i’ll be honest, i have no advice for you. but i can’t stop laughing at your story. i’m glad i’m not the only one who does stuff like this.

  3. Umm, yeah… I think you can count on it’s being pretty much broken. However, maybe it won’t take much to get it up and running. But for future reference (ESPECIALLY when making an online purchase), it’s all about the fine print. Good luck!

  4. Love the quotes by lauren and wes, good luck with everything. I feel your pain. Our PS2 recently has been playing less and less DVDs. I’m afraid in the next year I’ll have to upgrade it, and there is no way I’m paying what the PS3s cost. Maybee this lazy side thing can get me a PS3… doubtfull:

  5. Pingback: An Xbox 360 and a Very Lucky Towel « the lazy side

  6. Pingback: I Love Microsoft!!!! « the lazy side

Leave a Reply

