A Great Anniversary

This past weekend was truly excellent. First of all, Friday, April 20th, was mine and Lauren’s 6th anniversary. We pawned the kids off on Lauren’s parents, I came home from work early, and she and I had a nice, relaxing evening.

Now before I go further, I should make mention that April 20th is an important day to many people, for many different reasons. Adolf Hitler was born that day, it was the day of the Columbine tragedy, and 4:20 is supposedly like “happy hour” for pot-smokers. Quite a day, huh? You know, the really cool thing though, is that it’s also my grandparents’ anniversary. Last Friday, Lauren and I had been married for 6 years, and they had been married for 54. Pretty cool.

Anyway, we kicked things off Friday by catching the 4:30 showing of Blades of Glory, the new Will Ferrell and Jon Heder film. We both laughed pretty hard throughout the movie, and we both really had to pee by the time it was over. We had a stiff-legged race to the bathrooms as soon as the credits started.

After that, we went over toBernie’s on Main Street, which is one of the few restaurants in Columbiana, AL. Though it’s hard to believe, Columbiana has a quaint little area along their Main Street. I guess you’d call it a “downtown,” though it’s extremely small. Bernie’s is like an oyster’s pearl. It’s a great restaurant with good prices and a warm atmosphere, and you would never expect to find it in a place like Columbiana.

Neither Lauren nor I had ever been there before, but we definitely plan on going back. I liked the decor, and the food was excellent. I’ve heard their steaks and seafood are terrific, and they even have a wine list, if you’re into that kind of thing.

After dinner, we headed home (it was only around 8 or 8:30 at this point), and watched North by Northwest, which we had checked out from the library. I had seen the movie a long time ago, but Lauren never had. We enjoyed it. The acting is typical for that time period, so sometimes it seems a little overly dramatic and simplistic. Plus, there are several kissing scenes in it, and it was kind of funny to notice how there’s no tongue action going on. Pretty different from today!

Anyway, we went on to bed after the movie, and I never appreciated the joy of sleeping in my own bed the whole night through, as much as I do now that I have kids. No one was there to wake us up in the middle of the night, or early Saturday morning. Of course, Lauren, who is not nearly as aligned to the lazy side of the force as I am, still woke up a couple of times during the night. I, on the other hand, can sleep in any situation: chairs, desks, the floor, the car, the road, even hotel beds. Just another benefit that comes with mastering the lazy side.

3 thoughts on “A Great Anniversary

  1. It was a really fantasitc weekend! Remeber how we got up Saturday morning and rode our bikes around the neighborhood in the cool of the morning? They was fun too…wait, if I recall it was your idea to go for a ride…Hmmm,…doesn’t sound much like the lazy side does it?

  2. You would think. But moderate exercise can be enjoyable, which appeals to the lazy side. Also, it can make you healthier, which increases your life expectancy, giving you more time to be lazy…

    Trust me, you can’t get around this lazy side thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

