Reverse Psychology is a Joke

Last night, we were having trouble getting our oldest daughter, Madelyn, to eat her supper. She’s 3 and a half, and she’s usually much more interested in talking or singing than in eating – unless it’s candy. Anyway, when Lauren was fixing supper last night, Madelyn informed us that she wanted spaghetti for supper. So we told her that we’d have to do that another night, because we were going to eat chicken fingers, macaroni and cheese, pinto beans, and turnip greens.

Lauren couldn’t see Madelyn at this point, but I was watching as she slumped against the kitchen cabinets with a mournful expression on her face. Finally, she said, “that food makes my stomach angry.”

Nonetheless, that’s what we ate last night. Madelyn, though, just picked at her food, despite Lauren and I telling her that she wouldn’t get anything else. We finally let her down to play and put her plate in the fridge.

Later, bedtime finally rolled around, and though I love my kids dearly, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t look forward to this time of the evening. We laid Hailey down (she usually goes down pretty easily. We learned what not to do at bedtime with Madelyn) and were winding things down in Madelyn’s room when she said she was hungry.

Lauren and I looked at each other… You don’t want to send your kid to bed hungry, but this was the golden hour of bedtime! You don’t give that up easily! So Lauren said, “honey, don’t you want to lay down and see if you get sleepy?” And I added, “yeah, and you can have a big breakfast tomorrow morning!”

“No, I’m hungry,” Madelyn replied. Lauren and I looked at each other once again, in desperation.

Then, I had one of those “Eureka!” moments where the light bulb goes off above your head (now that I think about it, the room did look a little brighter for a minute there…), and I looked at Madelyn and said (with a slight smirk), “now Madelyn, all you can have is chicken and beans…”

Without any hesitation, Madelyn replies with, “Yay! Chicken and beans!”

3 thoughts on “Reverse Psychology is a Joke

  1. Hey, the ribs work on me, as do nightime movies. Your kids are so darn cute, they always gives me and Carly good laughes, and something to look forward to. Thanks for sharing these tid bits of your life.

  2. A man walks into a New York City bank and says he wants to borrow $2,000 for three weeks. The loan officer asks him what kind of collateral he has. The man says “I’ve got a Rolls Royce — keep it until the loan is paid off — here are the keys.” The loan officer promptly has the car driven into the bank’s underground parking for safe keeping, and gives the man $2,000.
    Three weeks later the man comes into the bank, pays back the $2,000 loan, plus $10 interest, and regains possession of the Rolls Royce. The loan officer asks him, “Sir, if I may ask, why would a man who drives a Rolls Royce need to borrow two thousand dollars?”
    The man answers, “I had to go to Europe for three weeks, and where else could I store a Rolls Royce for that long for ten dollars?”

Leave a Reply

