The Follow-through

In my second post on this blog, I talked about possibly going back for a second degree. Usually, when I talk about doing something like that, the lazy side takes over, and I simply let it fade away. For instance, about a year ago, I had just reread Glory Road and decided that I needed to learn fencing.

Sure, I know that I’m not likely to get into a swordfight in this day and age, but it just seemed to me at the time that a man needs to know how to do things like that. So I looked into the Birmingham Fencing Club. Surprisingly, fencing is a reasonably affordable pastime. If you’re willing to pay a little more than what most health clubs charge a month, you can learn how to artfully impale someone with a sharp weapon.

Now I know what you’re thinking: how hard is it to impale someone with a sharp weapon? Not very. But can you do it artfully?

Anyway, I don’t have a great deal of disposable income, especially if the charges are recurring, so that dream faded out. At least for now…

Last year, I also really got into writing a novel. I had played with the idea before, but had never written out more than 3 or 4 pages. But this last time, I actually wrote 23,000 words (which would translate to around 90 pages in a novel). I’m really kind of proud of that. I usually don’t stick with things that long. That being said, I still didn’t stick with it. I developed some writer’s block and walked away from it.

Anyway, when I first wrote about possibly going back to school, I was afraid that I might be doing the same thing… talking big, but not following through. But the more I thought about it and looked into it, the more it made sense.

My company will actually reimburse me for 100% of the tuition and books every year. If I go back to UAB, which is where I got my first bachelor’s degree, then I only need 10 classes to get a degree in Information Systems. So there were many reasons to go back, and very few to not.

Therefore, I’m proud to say that I’m a student, once more. I’ve already been admitted, and I’m registered for the summer semester. My first class starts on the 31st, and I’ve already gotten the book, too. We’re going to be learning C#, which is an extremely useful and relevant programming language right now.

Anyway, it will be a little tough with 2 kids at home, but I think we can swing it. If things go as planned, I should be done by December of ’08!

4 thoughts on “The Follow-through

  1. Good luck with going back to school. I’m still there, one class at a time. But I’m there.

    On the subject of hobbies…

    I’ve always wanted to build a model railroad. I’ve got boxes in the attic which contains a good bit of stuff (buildings, tracks, trains, and such—probably a good $1000 worth of stuff) to build one with but I’ve never actually gotten around to doing it.

    I don’t really have the space or even time though, that is the problem. The garage is spoken for, at least half of it is. My half is filled with more junk. The attic would just be awkward, hot, but it could be feasible…if I ran a few electrical outlets up there. But even then, my free time is spent between sleeping, playing video games, and occasionally doing yardwork.

    I’d like to have a big sprawling layout with all sorts of details…but, the dream will wait, I suppose.

  2. Way to go, Nate! You won’t regret this… I’m very excited for you.

    As for the fencing thing… I’ve always been drawn more to brute force than art. I mean, I can’t really see the likes of William Wallce worrying about decapitating someone gracefully. Furthermore, this all seems rather un-lazy of you. I mean, sure, a rapier may be somewhat easier to wield than a claymore, but it’s so much less efficient. And why would a devotee of the Lazy Side be worried about doing anything artfully?

Leave a Reply

