I Love It When a Plan Comes Together

I’m not very mechanically inclined, and I’ve made my peace with that. However, I’m also rather averse to spending money on anything I don’t consider “fun.” This would include putting brakes on my car.

But since brakes are necessary if you’d like to remain in the land of the living, I decided to replace them myself. It ended up being a successful endeavor, but only because my friend Matt (who actually knows how to do things like that and owns the tools to do them) came over and basically did them for me. I walked around acting like I was helping until my youngest daughter pooped in the bathtub. That seems to be a favorite pasttime for her, so I had to go inside and help clean that up.

When I came back out, Matt was finishing up (my brother Daniel had been there to help also). While Daniel and I put the wheel back on the car and started taking it off the jack, Matt told me that I would need to pump my brakes in order to set them correctly. And while I was listening to his instructions, it was probably only about as well as I listen when my wife reads through my “to-do” list.

Anyway, after we put everything away and Matt had gone home, I hopped in the car and pulled it forward just a little to its normal spot in the driveway. It was only when my foot pressed the brake pedal all the way to the floor that I remembered Matt’s instructions.

When Daniel stepped outside a moment later, he saw my car sitting in the backyard with its brakelights flashing on and off, resting comfortably on top of a portion of my privacy fence. Yes, the same privacy fence I worked on a couple of weekends ago. 🙂

Ever since I was a little kid, I wanted to drive a vehicle through something just like they managed to do in every episode of the A-Team. I just never wanted it to be something I owned.

Add one more to the to-do list, honey.

5 thoughts on “I Love It When a Plan Comes Together

  1. You might want to get a little help on the “bleeding” the brakes thing–you sure don’t want to be in traffic and get an air bubble in the line and repeat the crash manuever with a cadillac esplanade stopped in front of you.

  2. Good point. Though I should probably mention that they seem to be working fine now. As a matter of fact, by the time Daniel saw me sitting in the backyard, the brakes were working great. They were just a few seconds too late…

    And it was also at that point that I thought of using the parking brake.

  3. Nice man. It seems the internet nazis at work have not found this site, so for a little time I’ll be able to check out the site from work.

  4. Oh and if you lost that email I sent you a while back with instructions on bleeding the brakes let me know and I can resend it. Also I just checked and I can access your religous blog as well! My productivity just went down.

Leave a Reply

