School Daze (yeah, I know it’s cliche…)

School’s going pretty well so far. Hopefully, I’ll be able to stay caught up in there.

One of my professors, Dr Crigler seems really good so far. I’ve heard some other students say that he’s tough, but you really learn the stuff in his class. That’s the impression I’m getting right now too. We’re moving at a slower pace than I had expected, but that’s really good – any faster, and I probably wouldn’t be able to process it all. This is my second C# class, and he’s actually gone back and explained some things from my first class that I now realize I hadn’t fully understood. He’s an older guy who has some interesting stories about the evolution of programming that he’s witnessed.

He requires a lot more detail for our homework assignments – instead of just turning in code, we have to do charts and diagrams to explain how the solution should work. In every class he emphasizes the importance of being able to “solve the problem” before you ever type your first line of code. I think it will be really helpful in the long run.

My other teacher, Dr Hailey seems really nice, but I’m not sure that all of him is making it to class every night. A couple of nights ago, he was showing us something in Excel, but we spent half the class telling him how to correct what he was typing in. For his lectures, he turns to the back of the chapter and talks about the key terms listed there. The main problem with this is that the terms are listed alphabetically, but of course, they don’t show up that way in the chapter. So you end up discussing terms without even understanding their context. On top of that, his definitions for things don’t always match the book’s. It’s a lot of fun…

Sometimes, he seems to get a spark of inspiration and will actually go through a period good teaching. He did that last night, just when I was starting to think that I would have been better off skipping his class and reading through the book (which I’m doing anyway. I’ve decided to do that in both classes to make sure I’m really getting this stuff).

He’s retiring this summer.  I’m starting to think he may have done it already and just not told anyone.  Click on the link above (his name) and you can check out what people have said about him at RateMyProfessors.com.  It’s a fun read.  🙂

4 thoughts on “School Daze (yeah, I know it’s cliche…)

  1. Sounds like a chemistry professor I had at Auburn, Dr. Mountcastle. He misspelled “chemistry” while writing on the board the 1st day of class. Things kinda went downhill from there.

  2. Glad to see you’re getting the full college experience! Hey you got a B’day comming up don’t you? You’re turning 35 right?…..

    😉

  3. Hahaha… You’re too funny.

    Your birthday is coming up too, remember…?

    And for those of you who don’t know, by b’day is on the 26th, and I’ll only be 29, despite what I may look like…

Leave a Reply

